Stokes Quotes

Champions aren't made in the gyms.  Champions are made from something they have deep inside them - a desire, a dream, a vision.




 2005 Championship Season Factoids

TEAM Sponsors

2016 - Cory Hegedus
2015 - Eric Loucks
2014 - Grant Fox
2013 - Tyler Lilja
2012 - Anthony Fanelli
2011 - Zach Zimmerman
2010 - Tim Norris
2009 - Jon Murphy
2008 - Dan Norris
2007 - Zack Martin
2006 - Mike Harvat
2005 - Brandon Gnesda
2004 - Dave Campbell
2003 - Tyler Anderson
2002 - Eric Floriani


2005 was an incredible year for our team as we won the District 31 title for the first time in Hempfield Township history.  As a reference and archive, we felt it was only right to list some of the most memorable Notables and statistics To Commemorate this great year in our team's history.

  • The team rostered only 12 players for  the entire season.
  • Matt Roach threw 151 pitches over 9 Innings to earn the win in the Championship Game vs. Arnold
  • Team MVP Brandon Gnesda injured his ankle in the Championship Series and played through the injury in the Regionals
  • Only 9 runners successfully stole on Catcher, Mike Harvat all season
  • Over 300 spectators viewed the District 31 Championship Game at Lint Field.  The largest crowd ever to attend a single game at our complex
  • West Hempfield turned 22 double plays in 31 games
  • The team stole 78 bases for the year. 2.5 bases/game
  • An overall season record of 21-10
  • West Hempfield's pitchers struck out 217 batters.  7 batters/Game
  • The West Hempfield team ERA was 3.20
  • West Hempfield scored 214 runs,  7 runs/game
  • Opponents only scored 131 runs, 4.2 runs/game
  • Opponents only scored 131 runs, 4.2 runs/game
  • West Hempfield had a team batting average of .353
  • West Hempfield had an On Base % of .447
  • West Hempfield started four 16 year-olds all season
  • West Hempfield did not lose 2 straight games until the Regional Tournament
  • West Hempfield was 15-6 During the Regular Season
  • West Hempfield lost Game 1 twice in the Playoffs and came back to win both series
  • Mike Ferrara drove in the winning run in the District 31 Championship Game in the bottom of  the 9th inning

The West Hempfield 12 from L to R:  Brandon Gnesda (P/SS), Kyle McCullough (CF), Paul Hayne (P/1B), Jim Rodgers (3B), Mike Ferrara (RF), Zack Martin (LF), Steve Dubich (P), Zach Miller (OF), Mike Harvat (C), Dan Norris (2B), Matt Roach (P), Bryan Morrison (3B)